Goodbye, Summer

The weather has finally turned towards cooler days and colder nights making being outside finally enjoyable. One of the best things to me is enjoying a hot cup of black tea on my back porch while getting to watch my puppy chase the fallen leaves and knowing my two cats are snuggled up together by the space heater in the living room…finally, the time for family all being in one room has come for this Criss household!

I’m a military brat, but consider Florida home…so for anyone who may relate, this may sound like gibberish and lies, I have missed the fall and am looking forward to the beginning of winter time. Yes, only the beginning, because towards the middle and at the end, I completely hate all things cold, all things frozen and all things involving vehicles. I HATE driving in the snow and ice, it is the worst thing, I’d rather get fat during the fall and hibernate in order to avoid winter driving here. Sorry, off topic.

Branden and I have slowed our unpacking and have gotten unconsciously comfortable walking around and digging  through boxes…it’s sad, we keep saying we have to unpack, then don’t, this could be a great example of our excellent procrastination skills. Well, mine anyways. Branden’s at least got himself an excuse, it’s called a job. Me, well I have a blog, and soon a job, but that’s only more of an excuse to unpack before I start working and we live out of boxes through the new year…that sounds unpleasantly possible. I better wrap this post up quick so I can unpack something, maybe find my Birth Certificate or Marriage License so I can become a proper Indiana State Resident, even though I really am not looking forward to surrendering my Florida Drivers License. ):

THE WEATHER, gosh, I mostly just wanted to say how much I’m loving it, how much I love my new tea diffuser my Mother-In-Law bought me, either in Scotland or England during her and my Sister-In-Law’s trip this past July, and the cookies to go along with the tea she brought back for me. They were really good and thank goodness I now have a magnet to tell me how to make them. The ingredients listed on the box made me miss Europe, yes, because they are smart and made these the way they were meant to be made: Wheat Flour, Butter, Sugar, Salt. That’s it. No HFCS, no preservatives, no GMO’s, no hydrogenated oils, no corn, no soy…just what cookies are supposed to be made of, delicious, simple ingredients.

Branden’s been enjoying the weather and trying to get a lot of outdoor things done, for example, putting in a dusk-till-dawn sensor, it saves us money and our own energy to remember if we turned them on or off, usually I forgot, so really it saves Branden time from having to call from work to ask if I turned the lights off. He’s still enjoying taking care of the lawn with all of his new lawn care equipment, come next year I’m sure I’ll be writing about how much he loathes lawn work…he denies that this will happen, but I know the truth. (;

Adder, as well, has been enjoying the weather and the leaves. He chases them when the wind blows them around the yard, why we spend money on dog toys is beyond me. He is still getting used to the idea of a sweater, he usually forgets he has it on or becomes okay with it to then only start scratching and biting at it all of a sudden, but for Italian Greyhound, you’ve got to make sure they’re wrapped up in colder weather because they’re so skinny and all bone and lean muscle that they have nothing to (he’s drinking water in his sleep right now on my lap, he sits the gulping and slurping with his tongue lapping at nothing, it’s my favourite thing about his sleeping) keep them warm, so sweaters and jackets are a must for this little guy. I feel I have to justify having clothes on my dog for all the two people reading this post, even though he looks adorable in them!

Adder runs and runs and runs in the back yard, he just does circles around us, he’s so quick all we can do is stand there and try to grab him as he runs by because chasing him really is out of the question. I snapped a few pictures of him running around and playing and this one of him in mid-sprint made me burst on laughing, mostly because it made me happy to see how much he enjoys himself, but mostly, I mean, c’mon, he looks so goofy! haha! I had to share. And also the one of him with his top lips stuck, this happened to our previous dog, Roxie, all the time and always made Branden and me laugh. It doesn’t happen often to Adder because his lips aren’t as droopy, so getting a picture, well, was funny.

I do love this little guy. 

About Christina Nicole

I’m an Air Force Brat who grew up swearing off the military only to end up marrying a United States Air National Guardsman. We’ve gone through six moves in the past two years and have finally settled in Terre Haute, Indiana to stay (let’s hope the military agrees...or whichever other career path presents itself). We just bought our first home and I’m itching to get started on all the projects it’s so desperatly in need of! Now, if I only I could find some spare money layin’ around… I hoard (that’s not an understatement) glass bottles and jars like nobody’s business, it drives my husband crazy. I drink hot tea daily, not coffee. I love all things DIY. I’m close to an unhealthy addiction to Baskin Robin’s Bubble Gum Ice Cream and save alllll the little gum peices for last. Also, I usually don’t proof read my posts, so the mistakes…they add flare.
This entry was posted in Personal, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment