How Did I Forget?!

I can’t believe I forgot to mention this before! While with my sister, Erica, we both canned spaghetti sauce for the first time, well anything for that matter. Sooooo we were excited! I thought I’d share the pictures. I’m going to have to try canning my recipe sometime, because I like my spaghetti sauce to be more like diced tomato and onion simmer with some red wine and garlic with a bit of brown sugar added, my sister isn’t a fan of chunky sauce or tomatoes, so hers we more complicated than my sauce.

So here are the pictures. This one is of us filling our jars with sauce using the food funnel in the canning kit. We tought we wouldn’t need to use it…we were wrong.

Here they are, filled up.

Here’s my sister excited about her canned sauce!

This one is the jars simmering so the tops seal.

and I forgot to take a picture of the finished cans, but needless to say, they were adorable! Jars of food can be adorable, right?

Okay. I had to share our canning fun.

About Christina Nicole

I’m an Air Force Brat who grew up swearing off the military only to end up marrying a United States Air National Guardsman. We’ve gone through six moves in the past two years and have finally settled in Terre Haute, Indiana to stay (let’s hope the military agrees...or whichever other career path presents itself). We just bought our first home and I’m itching to get started on all the projects it’s so desperatly in need of! Now, if I only I could find some spare money layin’ around… I hoard (that’s not an understatement) glass bottles and jars like nobody’s business, it drives my husband crazy. I drink hot tea daily, not coffee. I love all things DIY. I’m close to an unhealthy addiction to Baskin Robin’s Bubble Gum Ice Cream and save alllll the little gum peices for last. Also, I usually don’t proof read my posts, so the mistakes…they add flare.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How Did I Forget?!

Leave a comment