Our First Real Lunch At Home

So, practically none of our boxes have been unpacked, did I mention that we’re sick of moving? Yea, we’re currently pulling things out of opened boxes, leaving a huge mess behind us, to get the things we need immediatly…a potential bad idea. But today, it was worth it!

We decided to go to the Terre Haute Farmers Market today, instead of the Bloomington Farmers Market (which is SOOOOO much bigger). First of all, I bought a cotton plant today. I was super excited, Branden thought I was strange. He bought two grass-fed, grain-finished (the cows have access to corn and grass the last few months of their lives…but I always bring up the point, if you had a kid and gave him the option between fruits and vegetables or candy, which do you think he would choose? I guess I could be the exception to that, though… growing up I usually did choose fruit over candy…so MOST kids.) beef filets. I kinda thought it was stupid, but I’m glad he bought them. I would have preferred, before I had our lunch today, that we just wait till next week to try the 100% grass-fed cow. But my husband just bought himself a new grill the other week as a welcome to my thousands of dollars in debt (new home). It’s a gas grill, and it was totally worth the 10% off we asked for since the box had been ripped open.

We stopped by Baeslers Market (our grocery store) and picked up some small red potatoes, a big white onion, and some baby Portobello and some asparagus. We got home and for the first time ever, we didn’t have to wait for charcoal to heat up! I decided to dice up the potatoes, mushrooms and onion and mix them up with some olive oil and a few herbs and wrapped them up in some foil and roasted them on the grill for about 30 minutes. Amazing. The asparagus is just sautéed in some olive oil with some sea salt and topped with some Romano cheese.

Branden was in charge of the steaks and he does an amazing job, such a true man. haha. He mixed some olive oil and some Cabernet wine and just sits them in the mixture for a few minutes. The wine added an amazing flavour to the filets. I couldn’t stop talking about how good everything was while we were eating…on our back porch! (:

We were both happy with our first lunch that we made together at home and how many more we get to have!

About Christina Nicole

I’m an Air Force Brat who grew up swearing off the military only to end up marrying a United States Air National Guardsman. We’ve gone through six moves in the past two years and have finally settled in Terre Haute, Indiana to stay (let’s hope the military agrees...or whichever other career path presents itself). We just bought our first home and I’m itching to get started on all the projects it’s so desperatly in need of! Now, if I only I could find some spare money layin’ around… I hoard (that’s not an understatement) glass bottles and jars like nobody’s business, it drives my husband crazy. I drink hot tea daily, not coffee. I love all things DIY. I’m close to an unhealthy addiction to Baskin Robin’s Bubble Gum Ice Cream and save alllll the little gum peices for last. Also, I usually don’t proof read my posts, so the mistakes…they add flare.
This entry was posted in Food, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment